Let us answer your Play-Doh FAQs!

Play-Doh FAQs: From Play-Doh recipes to how to soften Play-Doh you forgot to put away, find answers to your most troubling Play-Doh questions here!


Pick a subject
  • Ingredients
  • Preservation
  • Cleaning
  • Recycling
  • Fun Facts

What are the ingredients in PLAY-DOH compound?

The exact ingredients of PLAY-DOH compound are proprietary, so we cannot share them with you. We can tell you that it is primarily a mixture of water, salt and flour. It does NOT contain peanuts, peanut oil, or any milk byproducts. It DOES contain wheat.

PLAY-DOH compound is not a food item and is not intended to be eaten. PLAY-DOH compound is non-toxic, non-irritating & non-allergenic except as noted: Children who are allergic to wheat gluten may have an allergic reaction to this product. Also, due to the high salt content in PLAY-DOH compound, the product can be harmful to pets if ingested.

There is no MSDS sheet required for PLAY-DOH compound.”